Kangaroo and her Pouch


Today, I’ve studied about kangaroo and it goes like this :
Kangaroos are large marsupials that are found only in Australia. They are identified by their muscular tails, strong back legs, large feet, short fur and long, pointed ears. Like all marsupials, a sub-type of mammal, females have pouches that contain mammary glands, where their young live until they are old enough to emerge.

Kangaroos are in the Macropodidae family, which also includes tree-kangaroos, wallabies, wallaroos, quokkas and pademelons. When people think of kangaroos, the four species that typically come to mind are in the genus Macropus: the antilopine kangaroo, the red kangaroo, the western gray kangaroo and the eastern gray kangaroo. They are sometimes referred to as the “great kangaroos” because these species are much larger than other kangaroos.

However, there are 12 species of tree-kangaroos in the Dendrolagus genus, according to the Integrated Taxonomic Information System. And, bettongs, in the Potoridae family, are called rat-kangaroos.

The taxonomy of kangaroos, tree-kangaroos and rat-kangaroos, according to ITIS, is:

  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Subkingdom: Bilateria
  • Infrakingdom: Deuterostomia
  • Phylum: Chordata
  • Subphylum: Vertebrata
  • Infraphylum: Gnathostomata
  • Superclass: Tetropoda
  • Class: Mamalia
  • Subclass: Theria
  • Infraclass: Metatheria
  • Order : Diprotodontia
  • Suborder: Macropodiformes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *